- 18 years of age or older
- High school diploma or GED
- Register with the Board: fill out application and pay registration fee
- Allowed 12-18 months to complete Board-approved pharmacy technician training. (See below for Board-approved training)
Although PTCB certification is not required by the state of Minnesota, there are many benefits of becoming certified such as higher salary and greater marketability.
We make every effort to keep this information updated however for the most up-to-date information, check with your state board of pharmacy.
Minnesota Board of Pharmacy:
2829 University Ave. SE #530
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3251
Phone: (651) 201-2825 Fax: (651) 201-2837
Minnesota Board-Approved Pharmacy Technician Training
Acceptable types of training programs include:
- An accredited vocational/technical institution or college
- A board-approved accredited national organization that accredits pharmacy technician training programs
- Training provided by a branch of the United States armed forces or Public Health Service
- An employer-based program that includes a minimum of 240 hours in a one year period of both theoretical and practical instruction.
The Board does not maintain a list of approved vocational/technical institutions and colleges. To see additional requirement details, see the Guidance Document